Life

Looking Back: 2013

Oh hello, New Year’s Eve. When did you sneak up on me?

I don’t know how it’s possible that this year flew by like it did. As it seems every year, I find myself looking back and it all feels so fresh in my mind… and yet like forever ago, all at the same time.

This time last year I had just pressed publish on this blog for the first time, and while I haven’t officially celebrated C&P’s first birthday, I do have a lot of ideas, hopes and dreams for her. Now if anyone would like to lend me an extra twenty hours a week to blog, that would be lovely.

In true blogger fashion, let’s take a look back at 2013, shall we?

January

I set some lofty goals for the year, signed up for my fourth half marathon, happily welcomed hockey back into my life, and discovered one of my favorite cupcake recipes.

February

Hyannis

I reflected on what it often means for me to go home, learned to appreciate the simplicity of photo blog posts amidst life’s craziness, tried Foodie Pen Pals for the first time, and ran half marathon #4 in Hyannis, MA – setting a new PR.

March

I lost my uncle too soon in life, battled with with myself over a new job opportunity, learned to appreciate boxed mac and cheese by adding some confetti, celebrated St. Patrick’s Day in Boston for the first time, and got my first taste of a running injury.

April

IMG_1948

I officially accepted and started aforementioned new job (I made the right decision), celebrated Easter with my family away from home, reflected on the horrific events at the Boston Marathon finish line, and experienced the lock down of my city as justice was sought incredibly close to home.

May

I vented and complained some more about being plagued by a running injury, stepped down as a runner and stepped up as a driver for an amazing Reach the Beach experience, attended my little sister’s high school graduation, and kicked off a summer of country music and concerts.

June

IMG_3542

The tailgating continued with gluten-free treats like Asparagus & Wasabi Mayo and Simple Guac, I celebrated the Dads in my life, took the first of a handful of summer trips to Cape Cod, and poor, injured me reflected on 5 things I love about running.

July

I finally started to really see recovery progress from my running injury, reflected on the one-year anniversary since losing my big sister, headed home to celebrate my Momma’s 50th birthday, tested out (and loved) this Chocolate Salted Caramel recipe, and sadly said goodbye to an important woman in my life.

August

Bday5

I enjoyed a much-needed girls weekend away to one of my favorite places on earth, shared my version of my Dad’s famous blueberry muffin recipe, and crammed in a whole lot more concerts and birthday-awesomenessmine included.

September

I took the plunge and switched C&P to self-hosted, happily settled back into Saturday long runs, went a little overboard on treating myself, shared a recipe for delightful pumpkin whoopie pies, and went on an apple picking adventure.

October

Lake Run

That time we ran into a marathon on our long run, I registered for half marathon #5, threw a surprise 75th birthday party,  and shared one of my new favorite pizza recipes.

November

I hosted my Mom and her friends for a girls weekend in Boston, ran the fastest I have in a very long time – all for an apple pie, and reflected on the one year anniversary of my first marathon.

December

IMG_6716

Jumped full swing into the holiday season courtesy of some simple Saturday pleasures and enjoying the beauty of Boston’s decorations, ran half marathon #5 and surprised myself with a new PR (recap in the works), shared one of my favorite easy holiday appetizer recipes, and posted a cute DIY project for gold letter ornaments.

It’s been a busy and full year for me – one that will take well into the next before I can fully wrap my head around it. Isn’t that how each year seems, though? 365 days of life to reflect on, love, and learn from and before you know it – you’re onto the next one.

If there’s anything that I can take with me each new year, it’s the reminder that I am truly blessed.

Wishing you all the health, happiness, and love that 2014 can offer.

Cheers!

How do you reflect on the year that’s passed?

How are you celebrating NYE?
Heading into Boston for the Bruins game with the boy and some friends!

2 thoughts on “Looking Back: 2013

Leave a comment