DIY

DIY Ornaments: Festive Gold Letters

I wish I could tell you where the inspiration for these simple ornaments came from, but truthfully I have no idea. Pinterest-inspired in some way, I’m sure, these easy ornaments were a cute addition to some of my gifts this season.

IMG_1060

I purchased these small wooden letters from Michaels at $1 a piece, along with a small can of metallic gold spray paint, and a package of gold jump rings (found in the jewelry section).

IMG_1062

Using puffy paint I had on hand, I drew simple designs on the letters to create a bit of a textured effect. Polka dots, swirls, stripes, and chevron.

IMG_1080

Once these designs had a chance to dry – ideally overnight – I lightly sprayed the letters (front and back) with gold paint, allowing each side to dry for about 45 minutes in between.

IMG_1082

After the spray paint had set, I used a hot glue gun to attach the jump rings to the top of the letters. They were finished off by tying twine through the rings.

IMG_1087

Simple, cute, festive. Voila!

What ornaments decorate your tree? Kid art? DIY? Fancy? All of the above?
All of the above in my house(s)!

4 thoughts on “DIY Ornaments: Festive Gold Letters

Leave a comment